About

I write art criticism, essays, creative non-fiction, and poetry.

I am a first generation Canadian living and working on the traditional territory of the WSANEC peoples of the Coast Salish Nation on Vancouver Island, Canada, where I have recently moved back to, after 15 years in London, England.

My doctoral thesis at the Royal College of Art (titled More Than Words: Text Art Since Conceptualism) explored the use of text in contemporary art practice since the late 1960s conceptual art movement in the US and Europe, and argued the importance of the feminist artists in American second generation of conceptualists, in reorienting language-based practice to embrace a materiality of text at the core of their artworks in order to engage audiences in political subjectivities.

I collaborate with artist Andrea Francke on an ongoing research project exploring the politicization of motherhood and the labour of care, Invisible Spaces of Parenthood. Our projects have explored 1970s feminist publishing collectives in the US, the relationship of the Bauhaus to the kindergarten, and legacies of care and labour in art school infrastructures.

My writing has been published in international magazines including: frieze, Art Review, and parachute, and peer-reviewed journals West 86th, and Studies in the Maternal. My artworks have recently been exhibited and commissioned by the Centre for Contemporary Art, Glasgow; the Serpentine Gallery, London; and the centre Miro Quesada, Lima; and I have organised conferences and projects with the Whitechapel Gallery, London, and the Showroom, London. I have participated in commissioned curatorial research trips to Bosnia, China, and Romania since 2004.

I hold a BA in English (Cultural Studies) and Art History from McGill University, Montreal (2003), an MA in Curatorial Studies from Goldsmiths College, University of London (2005), and a Ph.D. from the Royal College of Art, London (2017).

I am half Punjabi Indian, half white English, was born in Nottingham, England, and grew up in the small town of Vernon, in the Okanagan Valley in southern British Columbia. I’m a cat lover, and I can run a half marathon in under 2 hours.

Profile Pic

Advertisements